Home > The Vine Market Standard  >  Special Diet Labels
Understanding Vine Market's Special Diet Labels

Those Sunday trips to the grocery store aren't always as simple as they should be. It can take time and energy to navigate crowded aisles in search of your family's favorites — all while checking labels to ensure you're choosing food that everyone can enjoy. We want to show you a better way. We are committed to providing a selection of wholesome options for those with special dietary needs — such as food allergies, digestive sensitivities, and ethical reservations.

To help you navigate these choices easily, we have clearly identified products that are free of certain major allergens or made with ingredients you prefer, based on information provided by manufacturers. [Note: These labels are intended as a shopping aid only. While we work hard to ensure that product information is correct, on occasion manufacturers may alter their ingredient lists. Actual product packaging and materials may contain more and/or different information than that shown on our site. Please always review product labels before consumption.]

These are the dietary labels you'll find on our site:
Free of the 8 Major Food Allergens
Products where the 8 major food allergens — peanuts, tree nuts, dairy, eggs, wheat, soy, fish, or shellfish — are not included in their manufacturers' ingredient lists. This list of major allergens was defined as part of the Food Allergen Labeling and Consumer Protection Act of 2004. Keep in mind that some products may be processed in facilities that also process peanuts and tree nuts.
Nut Free
Peanuts and tree nuts are not included in the product manufacturer's ingredient list. Keep in mind that some peanut free products may be processed in facilities that also process peanuts and/or tree nuts.
Made in a Nut-Free Facility
Peanuts and tree nuts are not included in the product manufacturer's ingredient list and the manufacturer claims that the product is made in facilities that do not process other foods made with peanuts or tree nuts. Please contact the product manufacturer with questions regarding the processing facilities.
Peanut Free
Peanuts are not included in the product manufacturer's ingredient list. Keep in mind that some peanut free products may be processed in facilities that also process peanuts.
Made in a Peanut-Free Facility
Peanuts are not included in the product manufacturer's ingredient list and the manufacturer claims that the product is made in facilities that do not process other foods made with peanuts. Please contact the product manufacturer with questions regarding the processing facilities.
Tree Nut Free
Tree nuts are not included in the product manufacturer's ingredient list. Tree nuts include, but are not limited to, almonds, cashews, hazelnuts, Brazil nuts, pistachios, and walnuts. Keep in mind that some products may be processed in facilities that also process tree nuts.
Made in a Tree Nut-Free Facility
Tree nuts are not included in the product manufacturer's ingredient list, and the manufacturer claims that the product is made in facilities that do not process other foods made with tree nuts. Tree nuts include, but are not limited to, almonds, cashews, hazelnuts, Brazil nuts, pistachios, and walnuts. Please contact the product manufacturer with questions regarding the processing facilities.
Gluten Free
Indicates a product that, according to the manufacturer's ingredient list, does not include a gluten-containing grain (e.g., spelt, wheat), an ingredient derived from a gluten-containing grain that has not been processed to remove gluten (e.g., wheat flour), or an ingredient derived from a gluten-containing grain that has been processed to remove gluten (e.g., wheat starch) if the use of that ingredient results in the presence of 20 parts per million (ppm) or more of gluten in the product. Also, any unavoidable presence of gluten in the food must be less than 20 ppm. Gluten is a type of protein found in all types of wheat (including farina, graham flour, semolina, and durum), barley, rye, bulgur, kamut, kasha, matzo meal, spelt, and triticale. Oats may also contain gluten.
Dairy Free
Products that are made without milk or milk derivatives according to their manufacturers' ingredient lists. This includes milk, lactose, whey, casein, butter, cream, cheese, and more.
Egg Free
Products that are made without egg or egg derivatives according to their manufacturers' ingredient lists. This includes albumen, egg (dried, powdered, solids, white, yolk), eggnog, lysozyme, mayonnaise, meringue (meringue powder), ovalbumin, and surimi.
Soy Free
Products that are made without soy according to their manufacturers' ingredient lists. This includes soy, edamame, miso, natto, shoyu, soya, soybean (curd, granules), soy protein, soy sauce, tamari, tempeh, textured vegetable protein (TVP), tofu, and more.
Vegan
Products that do not contain animal flesh, fish, fowl, eggs, honey, animal milk and its derivatives, or any other ingredients derived wholly or in part from animals.
Kosher
Products that are prepared in accordance with Jewish Dietary Laws and for which the manufacturer has obtained a Kosher certification granted by a 3rd-party agency.